Head spas in Tokyo and Kyoto you can book in English
Draft. This page is not public yet.
A Japanese head spa is a long scalp treatment: cleansing, massage and time to rest, often followed by a blow-dry. Many salons book through Japanese-language sites, so this page lists salons whose own websites offer English pages, English booking or English-speaking staff. Prices come from each salon's own site.
Quick answer
- Lowest prices with English booking: The Head Spa Tokyo, ¥12,100 for 70 minutes (eight salons in Tokyo and one in Kyoto); Ritts in Shibuya, ¥14,300 for 85 minutes; Spa Hinoki in Akasaka, ¥15,000 for an 85-minute treatment (its staff do not speak English).
- Staff who speak some English: Kläre in Ginza (an interpreter, not available every day), PESCo PESCa in Kyoto ("Basic English is available") and Spa Ease Kyoto ("English Available").
- Book early: The Head Spa Tokyo releases slots daily at 10:00 and says they fill up fast. ASMR TWIX TOKYO HEAD SPA was taking a waitlist for December and later when we checked.
Comparison
Each row is the cheapest head spa course a visitor can book, as listed on the salon's own site. Prices say "incl. tax" only where the salon says so. Prices change; check the salon's page before you book.
Tokyo
| Salon | Area | Course | Price | English | How to book | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Head Spa Tokyo | Shibuya, Daikanyama, Ebisu, Nakameguro, Harajuku and Gakugeidaigaku (8 salons) | Head spa course (70 min) | ¥12,100 (incl. tax) | English menu or booking: English website and booking page | Online (English); pay in the salon, no cash | 2026-10-04 |
| HEAD SPA Kuu | Omotesando, Shinjuku | Premium Head Spa (90 min) | ¥24,750 (incl. tax) | English menu or booking: English website and booking page | Online, prepaid by card for overseas guests; WhatsApp | 2026-10-04 |
| Ritts | Shibuya (JR New South exit) | Head-Spa course A (85 min) | ¥14,300 (incl. tax (Japanese menu)) | English menu or booking: English page; phone bookings in Japanese only | Online booking page | 2026-10-04 |
| Kläre | Ginza | Stem Cell Scalp Ritual (40-minute treatment) (75 min) | ¥28,000 (incl. tax) | English-speaking staff: English-speaking interpreter, not available every day | Online, phone or email | 2026-10-04 |
| CARINA GINZA | Ginza (Ginza-itchome Station) | Scalp Care Course (75 min) | ¥26,400 (incl. tax; price for overseas guests; a limited-time 75-minute offer is ¥19,800) | English menu or booking: Separate English booking for overseas guests | Online for overseas guests, prepaid | 2026-10-04 |
| WAYANPURI | Ginza, Shinjuku, Azabu-Juban | Head spa (60-minute treatment) (80 min) | ¥25,000 (incl. tax; first visit ¥19,900 until 15 Oct) | English menu or booking: English menu and booking page | Instagram DM (recommended from overseas), form or LINE | 2026-10-04 |
| Belle Cheveu | Daikanyama, Hiroo, Yoyogi-koen, Komazawa | Scalp Cleansing Treatment (75 min) | ¥19,000 (incl. tax) | English menu or booking: English pages; staff use translation tools; fewer courses for non-Japanese speakers | English request form | 2026-10-04 |
| Spa Hinoki | Akasaka | Scalp Treatment I (about 120 minutes in total) (85 min) | ¥15,000 (incl. tax) | English menu or booking: English page, but staff do not speak English | Email only | 2026-10-04 |
| ASMR TWIX TOKYO HEAD SPA | Sendagaya (Kitasando Station) | 18 Steps Premium Japanese Head Spa (120 min) | ¥29,500 (tax not stated; same price for local and overseas guests) | English menu or booking: Describes itself as "English & Tattoo Friendly" | Online, prepaid | 2026-10-04 |
| Dry Head Spa Utatane Ebisu | Ebisu (1 minute from the station) | Quick refresh course (dry head spa) (30 min) | ¥8,000 (incl. tax) | Not stated: Official site is in Japanese only | Hot Pepper Beauty, LINE or phone | 2026-10-04 |
Kyoto
| Salon | Area | Course | Price | English | How to book | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Head Spa Tokyo KYOTO | Shijo-Kawaramachi | Head spa course (70 min) | ¥12,100 (incl. tax) | English menu or booking: English website and booking page | Online (English); pay in the salon, no cash | 2026-10-04 |
| PESCo PESCa | Demachiyanagi / Imadegawa | QUICK SPA 50 (50 min) | ¥13,200 (tax not stated; English menu price) | English-speaking staff: "Basic English is available" | Online (English) or LINE | 2026-10-04 |
| YAYOI~BRAINS (GRANDE / fairy) | Katsura (Hankyu Katsura Station), Shijo-Karasuma | Trial Course (50-minute treatment) (50 min) | ¥17,600 (incl. tax) | English menu or booking: English page for tourists | Instagram DM or request form | 2026-10-04 |
| Spa Ease Kyoto | Near Kyoto Station (address sent after booking) | Dry head spa (30 min) | ¥6,000 (tax not stated; cash only) | English-speaking staff: "English Available" | Online form | 2026-10-04 |
How booking works for visitors
Japanese booking sites
Many salons in Japan take bookings through Hot Pepper Beauty, which is in Japanese. Some salons keep it for residents only: YAYOI~BRAINS in Kyoto asks tourists to book by Instagram message or its request form instead. The salons in the table above have an English booking route.
Prepayment and visitor prices
- HEAD SPA Kuu and CARINA GINZA ask overseas guests to pay online when booking. Kuu does not refund once the booking is confirmed.
- CARINA GINZA says its prices may differ between guests living in Japan and guests from overseas, and runs a separate booking system for visitors.
- ASMR TWIX TOKYO HEAD SPA says it charges local and international guests the same price.
- The Head Spa Tokyo takes payment in the salon on the day, cashless only. Spa Ease Kyoto takes cash only.
Cancellation rules
Cancellation fees are common and can be the full price. Examples from the salons' own pages:
- The Head Spa Tokyo: free up to 2 days before; 50% the day before; 100% on the day or for a no-show.
- Kläre: full fee within 12 hours of the appointment.
- WAYANPURI: free if you phone by 15:00 the day before; full fee on the day.
- Belle Cheveu: free before 10:00 three days before; 100% after that.
- PESCo PESCa: free up to 24 hours before.
Booking platforms
WellBe is a multilingual booking site for salons in Japan and Vietnam, including head spas. You pay by PayPal or card when you book; cancellation is free until 24 hours before, and its system fee is not refunded. YAYOI~BRAINS also says it is available on Klook.
FAQ
How long does a head spa take?
Longer than the course name suggests. Kläre's 75-minute course includes a 40-minute treatment; Spa Hinoki's 85-minute treatment takes about 120 minutes in total; Belle Cheveu asks you to allow about two and a half hours.
Is there a charge for long hair?
At some salons. WAYANPURI adds ¥550 for hair beyond the shoulders and ¥1,100 beyond the chest. Ritts charges extra for hair longer than waist length.
What is a dry head spa?
A head and scalp massage without shampoo or water. Spa Ease Kyoto and Dry Head Spa Utatane Ebisu offer it, and they are the cheapest options in the table (from ¥6,000 and ¥8,000 for 30 minutes).
Do the staff speak English?
Often not, even at salons with English pages. Spa Hinoki says its staff explain with gestures, and Belle Cheveu says its staff use translation tools. The English column in the table quotes what each salon says.
Prices and details checked on 2026-10-04.